Monday, July 31, 2006

So we woke up Saturday morning and got ready to go to SeaWorld. As we were getting ready I had a horrible asthma attack and almost had to go to the hospital. I was okay after 30 minutes or so so we decided to go ahead and venture out. When we arrived at the park they said that they weren't charging for parking since the entire parking lot was full and they couldn't guarantee a parking spot. Keep in mind that the parking lot holds probualy more than 3,000 cars, but we still ventured forth, determined to go despite all of the obstacles we had already faced by 11am. We finally found a parking spot and started walking towards the park and I started having the same breathing problems that I was having earlier that morning before we even left the room. So we sat down on a bench and decided to head back since the park was so crowded, it was 100 degrees, and I couldn't breath well with all the humidity. No Sea World.

Once we got back to the hotel I went and laid down for about 30 minutes and felt a little bit better so we headed down to the Riverwalk. I was there once as a little girl, with my parents, and could remember the city but not that well. We strolled along the river and found a cute Italian restaurant called "Michangelos" and ate lunch. It was soooo good!

After we finished lunch we went ahead and ventured over to the Alamo. I'm not really into that kind of stuff but I knew Rudy really wanted to go so I happily went with him. It was the Alamo, what can you really say about it? We took a tour though then took a picture and went on over the wax museum across the street. Now that was fun! We got some good pictures from that little venture.

When we were finished at the museum we went ahead and went back to the room and rested up before going to dinner. We went to Texas Land & Cattle (Rudy's favorite restaurant) I wasn't that impressed but he liked it.
Rudy driving on the way to San Antonio


The front of our hotel- I tried to get the whole thing in there but it was too HUGE!


The view from our hotel room window- the Riverwalk is below but we were too high up to get a good pic of it. We really could only see it when the boats were on it light up at night.
Our room view at night- that tower was BEAUTIFUL! And it was actually alot closer than it looks
This is kinda an odd pic but I thought it was neat. It's off the cars driving by down on the highway. Their lights made it have a neat affect I thought.

You tend to think that the long planned trips that you spend a fortune on are going to be some of your best memories, but I think this weekend’s last minute little getaway proved itself. We had a great time! We’re both so relaxed and ready to come back to reality.


We stayed at an awesome hotel that I highly recommend the Marriott Riverwalk in San Antonio. It is a truly beautiful place that’s in the perfect location. Everyone there was super friendly and very helpful with any directions, suggestions, or whatever we needed. It has 50 stories and it sits right on the the walk, and you can’t beat the views. Really really beautiful!

So we arrived at the hotel at about 3pm on Friday. We were fairly tired already from the two hour trip (yeah I know, we’re wimps!) so we just went and checked in and went up to the room to take a nap. As soon as we walked in, we loved it, as I’m sure you can guess from the view out our window. After we woke up we ventured down to the mall that’s connected to look around. I really didn’t like that mall, there were a lot of thugs there which seemed odd since it was so nice but it was really kinda scary at the mall. I looked around for something to wear to my meeting with Century 21 tomorrow and couldn’t really find anything that I loved so we left and went back to the hotel to eat dinner.

After we ate it was already like 10pm so we grabbed a few beers at the bar downstairs then went up and went to bed. We knew we had a big day in front of us the next day at Sea World!

Tuesday, July 25, 2006

I just finished throwing out my sorry attempt at a pot roast last night. Whoever said you can't go wrong with the crock pot obvisiously didn't know me. It may have helped if I had remembered to put some kind of seasoning in. Oh well.

Rudy is covered in hives. Yesterday we went to Lowes and bought some Snake Away and some pesticide for our spiders and when we got home with it all, he immediately went to work on it. After dinner we noticed the hives, they're all over his hands and chest, and no it wasn't the roast! But he's feeling better this morning after taking a long shower and taking Benadryl last night.

Luckily Rudy's off today so hopefully we'll finish up moving. I'm so sick of being between two houses! Right now he's gone to get our SeaWorld tickets at the base. We're going to San Antonio for 4 days, woohoo! We're leaving this Friday and will be back on Monday. It'll be good to get out of town. It's been a pretty stressful summer with the house and Rudy's promotion and everything. I can tell he definitely needs to get away more than I do. The only part I hate about going out of town is leaving Radar. He stays at a nice kennel and I know they take good care of him but still I worry.

Guess I better go clean the kitchen or something to get rid of the stintch of last night's dinner. Oh, and my interview with Century 21 is next Tuesday- keep your fingers crossed for me, this is something that for the first time in a long time I actually want.

Monday, July 24, 2006

Well I just got an email from Century 21 this afternoon. I'm pretty excited now because this gives me more options. The broker said she wants to meet with me next week and go over things. One big issue with me is that I need a flexible schedule. Rudy as most of you know is a state trooper and his schedule is nuts! He mostly works nights & weekends so I need a career where I can be off the same times that he is, and well, that's just hard to find.

I really hope it all works out. I want to go back to work but I have to find a job that meshes well with our lifestyle. The broker seemed really nice and she's our neighbor apparently so hopefully that will help me out.

Well, I'll keep everyone posted, gotta get back to those dreaded boxes- ugggh!

Sunday, July 23, 2006

Look who was there to welcome us into our new home....awwwww!


Well we just moved into our first home. What a mess that whole process was! We had the realtor from hell who didn't seem to want to do any work, oh well until it was time to get her check, then she was there. And then we had a seller who lived in another state, so the whole thing was just jacked up. But we're finally here! Finally in our new house :) I love it here, I love the house, I love the yard, I love the neighborhood, all of it! (Well actually I found a huge snake in the backyard yesterday, so ummm, not so much love for the yard right now- but ya know what I meant!)

Oh, and something else good came of all of this, it kinda put the taste of real estate back in my mouth. I have always loved real estate, but had kinda moved on. Now after dealing with our realtor, it made me realize what an awesome one I would be and that I should indeed pursue that. I think I'll more than likely stay in school too since it's not a very stable career, but hey it will be a nice little job while I'm finishing up school. So I called some local brokers and it looks like I might go with Coldwell Banker.


Well, I guess that's enough for today. I really have alot of unpacking to do. Not all of our crap is over here yet and I need to make room for the next load. I'll try to get some good pictures of the place on here soon.