Thursday, November 30, 2006

November 2006 in Review



This month I.......

1) Went to San Antonio for a quick getaway with Rudy's Family

2) Finished most of my Christmas shopping

3) Planned my first Holiday Tea Party

4) Started Posting on here again (after I figured out how to get back into my account)

5) Drove to Corpus for the 1st time on my own- Yay!!!

6) Ate like crap! Pizza, hamburgers, pie, Thanksgiving THREE times- ugggh!

7) Lost 10 lbs then gained them all back after #6

8) Started talking to my sister alot more which is great because I missed her

9) Had my cousin come over for a couple of hours. She was my first family member to see the new house.

10) Cooked my first Thanksgiving meal!!!!!!

What I did NOT do:

1) Stick to my weight watchers

2) Get my hair cut

3) Go to class

Ohhhhhh........the weather outside is frightful



Winter has officially entered the great state of Texas. I called my mom and sister this morning in the DFW area. They told me it was like in the 20s and already getting a winter mix. With that being said it's like 70 here this morning (500 miles south) but I can tell it will be a different story by this evening.

I don't think it's supposed to get below 40 here tonight but that's still pretty cold for South Texas. I just turned the furnance on for the first time this year. Hopefully over the weekend we don't get any ice but some snow would be nice. However, I just don't see that happening.

I'm having a holiday tea party this weekend so the weather will be prefect for that! I'm kinda bummed out that some people I want to be there can't because of the distance but I'm sure it will still be fun. I'll tell you more about that later. Right now a cup of hot chocolate is calling my name!

Wednesday, November 29, 2006

The Risk of Taking New Chances



So after hearing me bitch for let's see, I'd say at least two years, Rudy is leaving Highway Patrol. He put in for a position with CV this morning. CV (Commercial Vehicles) is considered much safer and their hours are alot better. The CV Troopers are the guys you see driving the DPS trucks and not the cars. They have the same duties as HP but they focus on 18 wheelers more, they work the scale house, and all that good stuff.

Rudy said that he's looking forward to it, but I have to worry that he's doing it for me. Despite the fact that I'm miserable because of his job I really don't want him to be as well. I know he loves his job now and I kinda feel bad about him leaving. CV is just so much better though, it's considered safer since they're not dealing with the general public, they only have to work 1 weekend a month (opposed to 3), they only have to work 1 week of nights a month (opposed to 3). So he'll be home alot more and we'll be able to have a normal life. Wow, a normal married life....I wonder what that will be like?

So now we just have to wait and see if he gets it. I don't know if I hope he does or not. This change could be wonderful or it could prove to be a huge mistake. Only time will tell. Oh and don't think this means you can speed down the road now, my husband can still give your ass a ticket!

Monday, November 27, 2006

Live on Pay-per-View





This whole Saddam Hussein trial has me thinking. Over here in this part of the world hanging is unheard of. Don't get me wrong I'm sure there's at least one crazy a day that hangs themselves but we don't hang people as a punishment for crimes.

If I had to personally nominate individuals to be hung, Saddam would be towards the top of my list. Now curiosity has the best of me......what would it be like to witness something like that? Don't get me wrong, I don't want to see an average day person swinging from the noose but what about Saddam or Osama or well whoever else that thinks killing Christians are going to get them 13 virgins in heaven or whatever they believe.

I think I would pay for it. Probably 30 bucks to watch Saddam's last moments on TV and maybe even a couple hundred for Osama. Yeah, that would be cool. And if somehow the proceeds went to fund something that they are totally against well, that would even be more icing on the cake!

So come on Don King, let's get this ball a rollin'. This will be way better than any Tyson fight.

Homichlophobia





ho·mich·lo·pho·bi·a -- n.

1. The fear of fog.

Fog is often associated with blind and lost souls wondering close to the earth. Fog is also thought to be the most perfect atmosphere for the worst sorts of crimes. Fog brings us to a gray world, where clouds lose their shape, melting into dead, desolate landscapes of damp night and dark shadows ripe for kidnaps and murder...

But, Fog is none of that.

I was supposed to go to class this week but that's not going to happen. Every since I had a bad wreck about 3 years back I'm a terrified driver. There have been times that I've been so scared while driving in a light mist that I pull over and cry. I really didn't think an accident so minor could do so much mental damage, but it did.

So as I woke up this morning and prepared to head to class about 35 miles away something stopped me in my tracks........Fog. I'm just terrified of it or anything really that makes for bad driving conditions.

So here I am, at home when I should be finishing up class =(

Oh and Stewie came into our room last night- eeeeekkk!

Sunday, November 26, 2006

"Not a creature was stirring, not even a mouse"



Well that is soooo not the case at our house.

Last night as I finished my nightly internet scan I noticed something out of the corner of my eye run across the floor. Now, normally I wouldn't have been so spooked but considering that in the six months we've lived here that we've dealt with a snake, a scorpion, and 10 million huge spiders I immediately panicked. I guess it shouldn't have been such a surprise to add rodents to that list.

Stewart Little has most definitely moved in, he made a few more appearances tonight. Our dog who weighs all of 9 lbs yet thinks he's a rottweiler is always up for a fight.....well unless we actually need him. What did he do to protect his momma? He darted to the bedroom and scooted under the bed, why of course. My dog, my hero.

So now that our first form of rodent control isn't obvisiously working we're forced to get something else. As an animal lover I want to get a humane trap and set it free once it's caught, out into the open field next to our house. But that small object of a brain that I've managed to grow in my head over the past 21 years tells me to kill it so that it doesn't just come back home. Rudy wants to get one of those sticky things but I just think that's horrible. The thought of little Stewie suffering in a garbage bag for three or four days before he finally dies just seems harsh. I say make it fast and to the point. Make it so he never knows what hit him (or his neck I guess I should say).

I do feel bad about it. They are pretty cute. But they are also dirty. I wish he hadn't come into my house. I wish I wasn't laying awake a night waiting for the SNAP.

Saturday, November 25, 2006

Aahhh The Stinging Of Acid On The Back Of Your Throat



Don't you just love Whataburger cokes? For those of you not familiar with Whataburger it's a chain of hamburger restaurants in the south, mostly in Texas I believe. I don't know what makes their cokes like 40 times better than everyone else's, but they definitely are.

I have a theory, I think it's because they use the Styrofoam cups instead of the plastic. Kinda like have you noticed Taco Bell's drinks always suck? I think that's because they use plastic. So listen people, go with the Styrofoam, that extra 13 cents a cup that you'll be spending will make more people want to buy drinks from your little place of business. We don't want our cokes already watered down with melted ice as you hand them out that 3 ft window.

Hmmm, I don't know, all I know is I'm willing to drive several miles out of my way to get a coke that will sting the back of my throat. So kudos to Whataburger, you make far better cokes and ketchup than you do burgers.